Tags

, , , , , , ,

During our morning break today we discussed monotheism. I have been thinking about it for some time and was now able to share my thoughts with some of my classmates.

The opinion was voiced that God-believers who don’t believe in Jesus Christ and the Holy Ghost do not believe in The True God. I disagreed.

… 

“For as I walked around and looked carefully at your objects of worship, I even found an altar with this inscription: to an unknown god. Now what you worship as something unknown I am going to proclaim to you.” 

– Saint Paul in Acts 17:23

Religions like Judaism and Islam, though they don’t worship Jesus Christ, do worship One God. Aside from the obvious monotheistic religions Christianity, Judaism and Islam, most people thinking about matters outside our realm of reason have the conception that there is ONE God/Power who is The God of gods, the First and Greatest, Father or Mother of all and The Creator of heaven and earth, however many inferior gods they may worship or believe in. This is for example so with the often called polytheistic Hinduism which mostly agrees on Vishnu as the original God. So, my point is that when they put these attributes on one personality, they actually worship the same God as we Christians worship, though incompletely and perhaps misdirected.

For, of course, we must be careful to separate the idea of a greatest God from the many flaws that worshipers may have attributed to that God. Those are undeniably offensive. Nevertheless, by definition, the greatest God will always be the greatest God, by whatever name He is called.

“From the lips of children and infants you have ordained praise” 

– Our Lord Jesus in Matt 21:16

My friends basically agreed with me, after some debate, on the condition that I agree that Jesus Christ is The Way, The Truth and The Life and that no one COMES to God through any other (John 14:6). I have no problem with that whatsoever.

God’s Peace!

/Sunniva

