Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Some folks say I’m pessimistic. Perhaps. I prefer realistic. I usually look at things both ways, which isn’t very popular. So here goes, the bad stuff first so you can look forward to the good stuff.

Why we can’t relax in total silence. (Insights from 46.5 silent hours at Åkerögården)

  1. The ventilation system sounds like a… hm…exhaust pipe (?).
  2. In a populated area the neighbors are not In Silence.
  3. Those neighbors have bought up most of the sea-facing properties.
  4.  Folks going to catch the ferry at Kappelskär need to pass by in 110 km/h.
  5. Semi-modern floors sound when we walk on them (especially with boots).
  6. I listen to so much music on ordinary days that I can’t get rid of the songs in my head.
  7. There’s always someone who can’t sit still (well, sometimes I am guilty too).
  8. Listening to my own thoughts isn’t always that nice.
  9. Just when I start to relax and really enjoy the silence, it is time to break it.

Why we should be silent. (this is positive)

  1. We need the break from our ordinary talking and hearing lives.
  2. If we listen less to the sound of our own and others’ mouth exercises we might actually hear God’s Word.
  3. It’s so much nicer to listen to music again after 46.5 hours of silence.

What I learned with the help of 46.5 silent hours. (This one’s definitely supposed to be positive)

  1. Silence relieves stress (or aggravates it to bursting point).
  2. Silence makes me think (or listen to my thoughts).
  3. Silence challenges me to see my self.
  4. Being cut away from most forms of distractions, I have to meet my self.
  5. Ventilation systems can be turned off to lovely silence.

My conclusion after 46.5 silent hours and some talking and praying. (If you say this isn’t positive I don’t know what is)

  1. I have worth because God loves me.
  2. I am not loved because God sees my worth.

So, after total of 10 positive points and 9 negative. Who says I’m pessimistic? 😉

